1 minute reading time (181 words)

2016 Annual Short Story Prize

We're to announce that the annual short story prize has been adjudicated. The competition attracted a large number of entrants, so deliberations have been long but enjoyable, with many fine stories to consider and weigh up. This year's judge, Cinnamon's own Adam Craig, had a tough struggle deciding the top places, but he's made his decision, and here it is:

    'Dye' by Omar Sabbagh;
    'Squirrel Therapy' by Jez Noond; and
    'Sita in the Forest' by Balvinder Banga.

and the runners up were:

  1. 'Trio for Four Voices' by Jane McLaughlin;
  2. '(W + D – d) TQ/MxNa' by Diana Powell;
  3. 'Acts of Cruelty' by Jacqueline Haskell; and
  4. 'On Plymouth Hoe' by Jenny Holden.

You can download Adam's comments on all of these stories, together with a list of the highly commended and commended entries.

The above seven stories will be published in the forthcoming anthology, Ruins and other stories, due in May, 2017. Meanwhile, congratulations to the winners and runners up, a big well done to those writers with commended stories, and huge thank you to everyone that took part.

Launching A Whole Day Through from Waking
'a taste of ...' Mini-competition Results


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Tuesday, 14 July 2020

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://cinnamonpress.com/