1 minute reading time (199 words)

Debut Poetry Collection Prize, 2018

Thank you to everyone who entered the Debut Poetry Collection Prize this year. We had a very strong long list — congratulations to everyone who made it on to it — which was narrowed down to ten excellent entries from eight poets (2 submitted two entries that were each strong). The short list was:

  1. Elaine Briggs;
  2. David Gilbert;
  3. Jackie Gorman;
  4. Tim Love;
  5. Patricia McCaw;
  6. Ellie Rees;
  7. Catherine Whittaker; and
  8. Elźbieta Wójcik-Leese.

Congratulations to the short-listed writers.

Our adjudicator, Judy Kendall, finally whittled these 10 down to:

  1. Jackie Gorman;
  2. Patricia McCaw;
  3. Ellie Rees; and
  4. Elźbieta Wójcik-Leese.

And we're pleased to announce that Judy's winning collection is: Elźbieta Wójcik-Leese with bearings/counterbearings.

Judy comments:

I would buy this book. It really draws the reader in to a shared fascination with language, and what it expresses, delivered with love and devotion not just in terms of exploration of language in content, but in word choice, form, placement on the page. This is very good work that needs to be seen. A real find.

Congratulations to all those who were shortlisted and particularly to Elźbieta, whose winning collection will be published in summer next year. Many thanks, also, to Judy.

Download the full adjudication.

Putting it out there — reflections on launching Wr...
Why we don't want to publish good books


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Tuesday, 14 July 2020

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://cinnamonpress.com/